High-Poly Statues

As previously mentioned in this blog, I worked on creating statues for the gods in the game. When I last wrote a post about this I was almost finished with the low-poly for Anubis. I shortly after that started to work on Horus. To make life easier for everybody we decided to reuse Anubis body and replacing the head. This worked quite well and I only had to make some small alterations to Horus’s body.

When it was time for me to do the high-polys I had to decide what to put in the high-poly and what to put in the textures. Seeing as I was not the one that was going to texture them I had a discussion with the artist that was in charge of the textures. We decided to put as much as possible in the high-poly. I started with Anubis and began with the body. I went for really exaggerated chest muscles but leaving out most of the abs. The reason for this being that 3Ds Max is not that good of a software to work with organic high-polys, so it would take unnecessary time for a result that could be achieved by using a heightmap in the texture. The optimal thing to do would be to use a sculpting software such as Zbrush. I have never worked in Zbrush and we did not have time for me to learn a new software. So that is why we went for a height mapped texture instead. I also did some work on the ears and the belt.

When it was time for Horus I reused Anubis high-poly for the body. I then began to work on the head, and focused a lot on creating eyes for him. When it came to the skirt I had to differ a bit from the concept art. The skirt was supposed to have feathers all over. However, making them would take up a lot of time that we do not have so we decided to skip them completely.

 

Beneath here you can see the entire process from concept to final in game product. The artist behind the textures is Gustav Larsson.

 

Screenshot_6

questions

Leave a comment